ASPSF awards 27 Summer 2024 scholarships to single parents in Northeast Arkansas

 Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund (ASPSF) congratulates its Summer 2024 scholarship recipients.

Thanks to the support of local donors and state funding, ASPSF awarded scholarships to 27 single parents pursuing associate degrees, bachelor’s degrees, and skilled-trade certificates. The single parents were honored at a picnic awards ceremony at Craighead Forest Park in Jonesboro. Children, family, and friends were also in attendance.

First Security Bank of Jonesboro provided the food, drinks, and supplies for the event. Additionally, the event wouldn’t have been possible without ASPSF volunteers including Kimber Boone and Shana Pierce present to assist with the June 13th event.

Mississippi County 2024 Summer scholarship recipient Kavonna Bennett and daughter at the June 13 Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund awards picnic at Craighead Forest Park in Jonesboro.

ASPSF’s flexible scholarship of up to $1,600 helps low- to moderate-income single parents pay for the biggest financial obstacles to obtaining a degree leading to a career with family-supporting wages. The monetary aid is paired with mentoring, financial instruction, and career coaching — the soft skill training that transforms students into sought-after employees.

“This scholarship has helped me so much to be able to provide for my son!” said Megan Thiesse, a Craighead County student majoring in early childhood education at East Arkansas Community College. She will begin the final leg of her education at Arkansas State University this fall.  “It is always a challenge to make sure school is paid for and you have food on the table. Once again thank you for giving me the opportunity to go to school and take care of my child! ”

Students who received a summer 2024 scholarship were: Amanda Leslie, Amber F., Avery Witt, Brianna W., Claudeya W., Dawn H., Jalisa D., Katherine Pryor, Kayla M., Megan Thiesse, Melissa C., Ronisha B., Samantha Tatem, and Teresa Miller, all of Craighead County. Mississippi County students included Anthony L., Iesha C., Kavonna Bennett, Laterica Burton, Marcy M., Martricia Harvey, and Quintryce W.  Additional students not named for privacy reasons were awarded as well.

For more information, contact ASPSF Program Manager Carrie Allen at [email protected] or 870-345-4681.

Top Photo Caption: Craighead County student Megan Thiesse receives her 2024 Summer scholarship certificate and check at the June 13 Arkansas Single Parent Scholarship Fund awards picnic at Craighead Forest Park. 


Source link
All Materials on this website/blog are only for Learning & Educational purposes. It is strictly recommended to buy the products from the original owner/publisher of these products. Our intention is not to infringe any copyright policy. If you are the copyright holder of any of the content uploaded on this site and don’t want it to be here. Instead of taking any other action, please contact us. Your complaint would be honored, and the highlighted content will be removed instantly.

Leave a Comment

  • Facebook
  • X (Twitter)
  • LinkedIn
  • More Networks
Copy link